The Board of Governors of Leigh Academies Trust has a range of powers and responsibilities which it is legally required to carry out, working in a close and balanced partnership with the Chief Executive and Principals, to ensure that the Academy provides the best possible education for all its students.

Detailed work is carried out in two Committees: Academic Standards and Resources which report to the full Board of Governors.

The Leigh UTC also has its own Board of Governors. The Academy Board is responsible for the day-to-day management and governance of the academies under its jurisdiction. The majority of the leadership and management is delegated to the Principal of the academy. The chairperson of the academy board is represented on the Trust Board to ensure that there is effective and coherent governance.

The Board of Governors of Leigh University Technical College
Mr K Ellis – Chair
Mr C Barker – Vice Chair
Mr D Brown
Mr C Burch
Mrs K. Gunn
Mr M Laming
Mrs J. Robinson
Mr S Leahey – Principal Governor
Miss S Dickinson – Staff Governor
Dr S Woodhead – University Governor
Mrs Collingwood – Parent Governor